Golden Apple Award 2016

May 11, 2016 Announcement


The following Legislators are recipients of the coveted Golden Apple Award for their dedication to expanding school choice in Idaho:


Senator Bob Nonini


Senator Mary Souza


Senator Cliff Bayer


Senator Lori Den Hartog


Senator Jim Patrick


Representative Judy Boyle


Representative Tom Dayley


Representative Steven Harris


Representative Wendy Horman


Representative Julie Van Orden




In addition, the Coalition has awarded the prestigious Champion of School

Choice Award to:


Charter School Commissioner Gayann DeMordaunt for her continued support for school choice.

Alan Reed, Chairman of the Idaho Charter School Commission. Idaho Falls Commissioner Reed served on the Idaho Falls District 91 School Board from 1994 through 2003. For seven of those years, he served as chairman. He attended Ricks College and University of Idaho at University Place in Idaho Falls. Reed is the president and co-owner of Reed's Dairy in Idaho Falls, which is a milking, bottling and sales company that manufactures ice cream and cheese. Reed has shipped his specialty dairy products nationwide and to Japan. He was born and raised in Idaho Falls and married his high school sweetheart, Holly. They have four children, all educated in District 91.